بيت الحرفيين تراث الحرف

تحتفي الحِرف اليدوية الموجودة في "بيت الحِرفيين" بالعلاقة الإبداعية والفنية بين أبناء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والموارد الطبيعية المحلية على مدى الزمن. فقد تمكن الحِرفيون من تطوير مهاراتهم لتلبية احتياجاتهم الوظيفية والاقتصادية مستفيدين من البيئة الطبيعية في الدولة التي تتميز بثرائها وتنوعها؛ حيث يوجد فيها ثلاثة أنواع من الأنظمة البيئية بما في ذلك النظام الصحراوي، والجبلي، والبحري. تعكس الحِرف اليدوية بفضل هذه المهارات إحساساً فنياً عالياً. ولا يقتصر دور هذا التراث غير المادي الذي تتوارثه الأجيال جيلاً بعد جيل، على الحفاظ على المهارات العملية فقط، بل يسهم أيضاً في تعزيز القيم الاجتماعية المشتركة المرتبطة بالهوية الإماراتية.

السدو

تعد حِرفة السدو من الحِرف التقليدية التي عملت بها المرأة الإماراتية منذ القدم. تستخدم النساء صوف الأغنام ووبر الجمال وشعر الماعز لصنع تصاميم جميلة ومميزة غنية بأشكالها الهندسية التي تعكس في الغالب الهوية الاجتماعية والبيئة المحيطة.

استُخدم هذا النوع من النسج في صناعة الخيم أو "بيوت الشعر"، كما استخدمت أنواع السدو المختلفة في تزيين الخيم من الداخل. وغالباً ما كانت الجمال تُزيّن بالعتاد المصنوع من السدو أيضاً، بالإضافة إلى التصاميم المنسوجة التي تضيف حيوية وبريقاً إلى السروج والأحزمة.

اعترافاً بمدى أهمية السدو، أُدرِجت هذه الحِرفة عام 2011 ضمن قائمة التراث الثقافي غير المادي الذي يحتاج إلى صون عاجل باليونسكو.

الخوص

تعد النخلة الركيزة الأساسية التي تقوم عليها الكثير من الحِرف اليدوية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وعلى الرغم من أن أشجار النخيل معروفة بكونها المصدر الرئيسي للغذاء في المنطقة، إلا أن فروعها وسعفها تدخل أيضاً في حِرفة النسج التقليدية المعروفة باسم الخوص.

يمارس الرجال والنساء على السواء حِرفة الخوص، حيث يقومون بنسج أو تجديل سعف النخل لصنع منتجات وأدوات مختلفة. استخدمت تلك المنتجات لسد احتياجات الحياة اليومية كالأواني والفرش وغير ذلك، إلا أن التقنية المستخدمة والألوان المختارة تعكس براعة الإنسان الإماراتي وقدرته على التكيف مع الطبيعة.

استخدمت المنتجات لسد احتياجات الحياة اليومية، إلا أن التقنية المستخدمة والألوان المختارة تعكس براعة الإنسان الإماراتي وقدرته على التكيف مع الطبيعة.

التلي

التلي أحد الأشكال التقليدية للتطريز الزخرفي الذي تمارسه المرأة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث تُستخدم خيوط القطن أو الحرير بشكل متداخل مع خيوط الذهب والفضة لتزيين الياقات والأكمام وأطراف الكندورة والثوب؛ فيتألّق بريق التصاميم المعقدة وألوانها النابضة بالحياة.

تستغرق هذه العملية المعقدة لصناعة التطريز المميز وقتاً طويلا،ً حيث تتطلب كثيراً من الصبر والأناة والتركيز. ويسعى الجميع دائماً وراء الخياطات المحترفات اللواتي تتميز أعمالهن بابتكارات متميزة.

الحرف البحرية

على مدى آلاف السنين، تمكن أبناء الإمارات العربية المتحدة من إيجاد طرقٍ مبتكرة لاستكشاف البحر والاستفادة من ثرواته. وقد ساعدت صناعة القوارب على تطوير العلاقات التجارية عبر الخليج العربي والمحيط الهندي. كما أسهمت قوارب صيد اللؤلؤ والأسماك في ازدهار الاقتصاد المحلي بشكل كبير.

ساعدت صناعة القوارب على تطوير العلاقات التجارية عبر الخليج العربي والمحيط الهندي.

في المجتمعات الساحلية، استُخدمت مواد محلية في صناعةُ صيد الأسماك المزدهرة وذلك لإنشاء تصاميم فريدة لشباك الصيد والفِخاخ، الأمر الذي أسهم في تحسين طرق صيد أنواع الأسماك المختلفة الموجودة في مياه الخليج العربي.

House of Artisans The heritage of craft

The crafts represented in House of Artisans celebrate the creative and artistic relationship between the people of the United Arab Emirates and the locally available natural resources. Within the diverse landscapes of the UAE- from the desert, to the oases, to the coast and sea- artisans have developed skills to meet functional and economic needs. The crafts made through these skills show a creative artistic expressions and aesthetics. Shared from generation to generation, they preserve not only the practical skills but also the shared social values associated with Emirati identity.

Home Banner

Al-Sadu

Al-Sadu is a traditional form of weaving practiced by Bedouin women in the United Arab Emirates. Using the wool of sheep, camels and goats, women create beautiful and distinctive designs rich with geometrical patterns that often reflect both social identity and the surrounding environment.

This intricate weaving was used to create the bait al-shaar (the tent) and various Al-Sadu patterns were used to decorate the interior tent divider. Camels were also often decorated with ataad (camel accessories) made of Al-Sadu, with the woven designs adding vibrancy and colour to the saddles and straps.

In recognition of its importance, In 2011 Al-Sadu was inscribed onto the UNESCO List of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Need of Urgent Safeguarding.
Home Banner

Khoos

The date palm is the foundation for many crafts of the United Arab Emirates. While the date palm is known for providing the staple food of the region it is the branches and leaves of this tree that are used in the traditional weaving technique known as khoos.

Khoos is practiced by both men and women and it involves the weaving or braiding together of date palm fronds to form an object. While the products made serve a functional purpose, the techniques used, and colours chosen provide elements of personal artistry.

While the products made serve a functional purpose, the techniques used, and colours chosen provide elements of personal artistry.

The products made include surood, circular mats on which food is placed, mahafah, a fan used to cool oneself or fan a flame, makabah, used to cover and protect food, and jefeer, a basket used to carry dates.

Home Banner

Talli

Talli is a traditional form of decorative embroidery practiced by Emirati women. Cotton or silk threads, intertwined with gold and silver threads are used to decorate the collars, sleeves and hems of the kandoora and thawb (traditional women’s robes) with intricate designs and vibrant colours.

Creating this beautiful embroidery is a time-consuming and complex process that requires much patience and concentration. Accomplished professional seamstresses are sought out for their unique and outstanding creations.

Home Banner

Sea Craft

For thousands of years the people of the United Arab Emirates have found ingenious ways to both understand and benefit from the richness of the sea. The boat building industry helped develop trade relationships across the Arabian Gulf and the Indian Ocean, and boats made for pearling and fishing significantly contributed to the local economy.

The boat building industry helped develop trade relationships across the Arabian Gulf and the Indian Ocean.

In coastal communities, the thriving fishing industry used local materials to create unique designs for fishing nets and traps which improved the catching of the different types of fish found in the Arabian Gulf waters.

Home Banner